February 22-26

Jeff was on call this week, but once again no calls came in while I was at the office and overall it was just a very slow week. On Monday, Gary and I took a family to the morgue to see their loved one who had committed suicide. Usually we don’t take families to the morgue, but they were from out of town so it was a special case. That was really all we did on Monday, other than scanning case files into the system. The older files are being taken to a different storage place to make room, so they all had to be entered into a system electronically.  On Tuesday, once again no calls came in, and no one was at the office, so I ended up leaving an hour early.

Wednesday and Thursday were basically the same. No calls came in, so I just hung out with Gary and did some homework. Friday was a little more interesting. I was assigned the official paper shredder, so I did paper runs to the shredder for Dee. We had a hot dog party for lunch and my official nickname of “Red” was given to me. Then Jeff took me with him to make a notification, which ended up being a total bust. We were going to notify a man that his mother had been found dead that morning, but the apartment that was listed as his address was occupied by someone else and no one knew where he moved to. So we ended up going to Sunrift and getting new diving equipment that Jeff can use when recovering bodies from water. We also went to a shop to get extra keys made for Jeff’s truck since he locked himself out last week. After that, we went back to the office and Gary and I watched Chicago Fire for 30 minutes until Hulu crashed. So then we played with Ino until 4:30 when it was time to go home.

I am still enjoying my internship, even though the past 2 weeks have been a little slow. I am planning on using a prearranged absence day soon so that I will be able to go to the office in the morning and hopefully see some autopsies and be able to go on another call.

Leave a Reply

